Noah Barleywater runs away- John Boyne

DSC_0356

Noah is 8 years old and decides to run away from home. Along the way he meets a toymaker, rather a special one. He spends a whole day with him and tells about his problems and why he ran away.

Yes i’m aware that this is a book for children but so what?! I enjoyed it and the concept is really good.. But I had some trouble with some parts of the book. These issues have to do with my age but someone younger than me will sure enjoy the complete story!
You have 4 ‘important’ characters: Noah and his parents and the toy maker. I couldn’t really connect with Noah because well he’s 8 years old and behaves like an 8 year old. But the toymaker, my goodness! He’s rather old but I fell in love, all the feelings that go along with him, great!

~Stefanie

 

Leave a Reply

